top of page

Wednesday Reads "Eight Perfect Murders"



There are some books on my TBR that I picked up because of a sale or because once upon ago I thought it’d be an interesting read. But we all know how that goes. You pick up one book then stop at the bookstore again the next day and pick up another and you don’t read the first one you bought because the newer book is just more of what you want to read at this moment in time. That’s how this book was for me. Eight Perfect Murders by Peter Swanson sat on my shelf for well over a year, and, in truth, that was a crime on my behalf. 


 

Eight Perfect Murders is told by Malcome Kershaw, a bookseller and murder mystery expert from Boston. When he first began working at the bookstore he now co-owns, he wrote a list of “Eight Perfect Murders” where he highlights eight murders that he considers “perfect,” meaning no one will ever find out who’s done it. But Mal is surprised when he receives a visit from an FBI agent who wants to get a closer look at this list. She thinks there may be a connection to some recent murders in the area, and Mal might be the best way to solve the mystery. Now, Mal feels he must help her, if not to find the killer than to keep his own dark secrets at bay.


 

One thing you need to know about this novel before diving into it, the actual mystery, the real whodunit, isn’t the part of the story that captures you. What kept me turning page after page was the narrator. Mal doesn’t bore you with the unnecessary details and his perspective gives such a unique look on events in the novel. Plus, his own backstory keeps you guessing is he telling the truth or is he unreliable as the narrator. It’s interesting because, at the start of the book, it tells you that this is a memoir and names have been changed to “protect the innocent”. I forgot this info as soon as I started reading the book, and I definitely should’ve kept it in mind. But, when I did remember it, it changed everything I thought I knew. 


This novel is for people who love a classic mystery novel, not that you can’t enjoy it without having read the pieces mentioned in the novel because lord knows I did. But I know that if I was a real big classic mysteries fan, I’d be geeking out over this piece. For me, not having read or being unfamiliar with these novels was okay, and I enjoyed getting to learn about them through the lens of a murder mystery aficionado. It’s quite meta but in the perfect way. I would advise you not to read this novel if you intend on reading any of the following and don’t want them to be spoiled for you:


  • Agatha Christie’s The A.B.C. Murders

  • A.A. Milne’s The Red House Mystery 

  • Anthony Berkeley Cox’s Malice Aforethought

  • James M. Cain’s Double Indemnity

  • Patricia Highsmith’s Strangers on a Train

  • John D. McDonald’s The Drowner

  • Irva Levin’s Deathtrap

  • Donna Tartt’s Secret History


 

I think a big reason this book was such a delight for me to read was because of the copycat killer aspect. I love watching Criminal Minds and this novel felt like an episode from that show. It gives you that perspective of why and how for these murders and, for me, that’s the most interesting part. So, I would say if you like a good mystery novel verging on psychological thriller then this is a SAVE. It’s on the shorter end so pick it up for a travel day and watch some magic unfold in front of you. 


Toodles,

Wednesday


Comentarios


bottom of page