top of page

"Killers of a Certain Age" Review




If you enjoy a good murder mystery and like a bit of old-fashioned humor, you may have found yourself watching Only Murders in the Building, like myself. And as good of a show as that is, this review has nothing to do with it. Buttttt, because I’m a fan of said show, Killers of a Certain Age by Deanna Raybourn was recommended to me. So, in my recent trend of not looking into what books are about and just picking them up, I started this one!


 

Killers of a Certain Age follows Billie, Helen, Mary Alice, and Natalie who were each sought out by an elite network of assassins called the Museum. The main goal: eliminate Nazis not yet brought to justice. But now, 40 years later, when their old school skills aren’t as valuable, the ladies are ready for retirement. To celebrate, the Museum sends the group on an all-inclusive cruise where they’re set to relax and begin living that good life–or so they think. They soon find themselves being targeted by the same organization they dedicated their lives to and have to find out why and how to stop it all the while adjusting their old skills to their new age.


 

Ms.Raybourn clearly did her research about being a spy (or maybe she just knows these things somehow) because this felt real. From the beginning of the novel, every last detail is thought through and accounted for, like the ladies choosing aliases starting with the first letter of their real name so if they slip up and start saying the wrong name, it’s an easy fix. So, I have to give praise there, because this helped fully immerse me in the novel.


The plot is good and interesting especially if you enjoy spy novels or movies and enjoy “The Hunt” or the action. But if you’re looking to fall in love or find a connection with the characters, this may not be for you. This book doesn’t fully focus on the group of ladies themselves as much as it does the mystery of why they’re being hunted. I still enjoyed the novel, despite not being able to really connect with the main ladies (though, some of the side characters are pretty loveable) because I found the details of the mystery so interesting and well thought out. Plus, the humor that flows throughout the novel is very selective so this may not be the novel for everyone, but, personally, I really enjoyed it and found myself giggling a good bit (but the humor isn’t “laugh out loud”, “pee my pants” type of humor). 


While there were times I felt very consumed by this book and the plot, I had just as many times where I felt the pace slowed and felt dry. But it was never for long, so I’m thankful for that. I will say that I really appreciate how creative this story was. I feel like very often spy novels and movies tend to lean on mostly men or overly sexual young women, and while this novel didn’t totally shy away from that premise, it did set a new light on it. Plus, I liked being able to see older women who aren’t portrayed as frail and incapable. This portrayal of 60-year-old women who can still kick butt is beautiful and fresh!


 

The way I’ll sum up this book is by saying that it’s either hit or miss. You’ll either really enjoy it, or you won’t and that’s okay! I’m giving this book a SAVE. It’s not an earth-shattering, “My Life Is Changed” book, but it was enjoyable and a different take on the world of spies. Just something we don’t see every day! 


Till, next Wednesday,

Wednesday <3

Comments


bottom of page