top of page

The Last Book I...


This week I wanted to do a fun post! Here are some of the last books I've interacted with.


 
The Last Book I... Bought

The last book I purchased was Twilight by Stephenie Meyer. A coworker and I were discussing popular books that we loved as young adults, and during the conversation, Twilight came up. Turns out neither of us had read it, but both of us wanted to. With how big a piece of pop culture the series, both movie and novel, is, I've wanted to have my go at it. If you haven't heard of it A. I'd like to know what you've been doing for the last 17 years and B. it's a vampire, werewolf, a human love triangle set in Washington. There are mixed opinions about the series. Some say it's really cringy and the plot is underdeveloped; others have praised it to the status of a "cult classic." Either way, I'm excited to dive in and understand the history of such a monumental obsession of the 2000s, and, obviously, I'll let you guys know what my stance is at the end of it.


 
The Last Book I... Started

Recently, a few friends and I have started a book club. We've been voting on genres, and then rounding up some options to decide what to read for the month. For October, we decided to partake in the spooky vibes and read a horror novel. The Troop by Nick Cutter is what we landed on for this month, and I've been enjoying my read so far. It is about a troop of Boy Scouts on their annual camping trip that's disturbed by an intruder suffering from a bioengineered infection. Though I'm not someone who gets scared easily (thriller movies are a fav), I've been a little nervous about reading this one since it's based on something that could potentially happen. Therefore, I've been trying to read at least two chapters a day, hoping that keeping it in smaller increments won't be too scary for me and I won't rush through the book too quickly; I'd like some of the plot to be fresh in my mind for our end of the month meeting.


 
The Last Book I... Finished

The last book I finished, and my favorite read of September, is A Marvelous Light by Freya Marske. I won't say much about this since I plan on reviewing it soon, but this book was such a surprise for me!


 
The Last Book I... Cried With

Whew! If We Were Villians by M.L. Rio truly changed me as a person. If you want a deep sob to erupt from you while you're sitting on your friend's couch multiple times, if you want to have to sit in the night air and just breathe because you physically and mentally can't do much else, if you want to think about a book at least once a day for months after you finish it because it's so profound... this is the book for you! Again, I'd like to review this soon so not much to say for now, but just know I don't cry at books, like ever, but this novel man...


 
The Last Book I... Was Gifted

One thing I will always appreciate and one way to make me feel really loved is to gift me a book you think I'd like. Recently, my boyfriend picked up And There He Kept Her by Joshua Moehling because he thought I'd like it, and, wow, my heart nearly exploded! It's a thriller novel about two teens caught in a burglary gone wrong, and, based on the back of the book, it's giving serious Don't Breath vibes. Funny enough, that was the movie my boyfriend took me to see on our first date! Maybe that's why this book stuck out to him.


 

I hope you enjoyed this different style of post and learning more about the latest books I've been playing with!


Catch ya next Wednesday!

Comments


bottom of page