top of page

"A Marvellous Light" Review


I’m not sure how I came across this book originally. I know that it was on my TBR and it was 50% off, so I picked it up. It had been a long time since I had added it to my list, so I wasn’t sure what all the book was about. What I did know is that it was a standalone fantasy novel–or so I thought–and my reading began. Sometimes you just need a break from smut! Side note: Reading the back of a novel before starting it might be a good idea. Learn from my mistakes.


 

A Marvellous Light by Freya Marske is a historical fantasy set in Edwardian England and follows Robin Blythe, who has just been appointed to the position of “Assistant in the Office of Special Domestic Affairs and Complaints”, and like us, he has no idea what that means. His new companion, Edwin Courcey, is a magician with the power to weld small spells. He may not be the greatest magician of his time, but Sir Blythe is amazed by what he can do. After an encounter with some magicians looking for something powerful that his predecessor died for, Robin and Edwin work together to get things back to normal for their agency and Robin’s life.


The book starts off a bit confusing, as most fantasies do, but not in a bad way. In fact, not knowing what exactly is going on helps you understand the confusion that Robin is going through himself since he has just been introduced to it all. As he learns more about magic, you do too, and that works well for this novel. Another thing that works well is the third-person perspective it’s set in. Every other chapter, besides the very first one, is set in the limited third-person perspective of either Robin or Edwin. It’s effective because when you need to know something about the magic happening, you’re seeing things through Edwin, who can explain what is happening. On the flip side, when it works best for the reader not to fully understand what’s going on, you’ll read it from Robin’s perspective since he doesn’t know what’s happened or happening. These views also align well with the character’s personalities. For example, Edwin is a very analytical person so breaking down things he’s viewing or recalling helpful spells or research he’s done not only progresses the story but fits with who he is as a person.


Now, I must call to light the fact that this is a queer romance novel. I was unaware of this. Had I read the back of the book, I would have been aware, but I like to live life in the unknown so I didn’t do that. Edwin and Robin make a really cute couple. They really exemplify the whole “opposites attract” thing and the forbiddenness of their love makes it all the more exciting (at this point in time it’s illegal to be gay, sad). At some point, I was questioning if perhaps they were just trauma bonded because they go through some unhinged things together, but when their characters come together they flourish. Robin and Edwin are probably the most compatible couple I’ve read about this entire year and getting to see them play off of each other’s strengths and weaknesses is magical. It is worth mentioning that I didn’t get that break from smut I thought I would.


I also must give props to Marske for the way she writes in the action and magic. When reading very active scenes or when complex magic was happening, I never got lost or confused. Everything was very clear but still interesting enough that it didn’t feel dumbed down for the reader which could very easily have happened seeing the language the novel is written in.


This was by far the best novel I read in September and I have to give it a SAVE. If you’re looking for something different to read this is the one. It’s such a fascinating blend of genres from romance to historical to fantasy and it was a page-turner even when there wasn’t much happening in that particular moment. So, add this to your TBR, and let me what you think when you give it a read!


Toodles,

Wednesday



Comments


bottom of page